Go To Search
Charter Review Commission

The 2016 Charter Review Commission was appointed by City Council to evaluate all language contained in the City Charter and determine if recommendations for change are warranted. The Charter Review Commission is convened once every 10 years. Proposed changes recommended by the Commission have been approved by the City Council for placement on the November 8, 2016 General Election ballot.  Any change to the Worthington City Charter must be approved by the voters.

Charter Review Commission Report

Approved Charter Amendment Legislation
Charter Proposal draft - red-line showing changes
Issue 44 Ballot Language

The Worthington City Charter is the "local constitution" and provides the framework for how the City is structured and governed.  Given the importance of this document, the City Council appointed a highly knowledgeable and experienced group of citizens representing a variety of professional and personal backgrounds, community involvement and leadership experience.  

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to meetings
Most Recent Agenda | View All

Minutes are also available upon approval
Most Recent Minutes | 
View All

Charter Review Commission – 2016

Michael Bates - Mr. Bates is a retired executive who works as a consultant for telecommunications and information technology matters.  He serves on the City’s Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee and the City’s Community Reinvestment (CRA) Housing Council and is involved in various community groups.

Trent Bowers - Dr. Bowers serves as Superintendent of Worthington Schools.  He is a graduate from Worthington Schools and holds a doctorate in educational leadership and a Master’s Degree in school administration.

Sue Cave, Chair - Ms. Cave is concluding her service with the Ohio Municipal League after serving as Executive Director for 22 years.  She is a native of Worthington and her father, John Coleman, served as City Council President for 28 years and on the City Council for 32 years.

Tom Dalcolma - Mr. Dalcolma is President of Commercial Real Estate for Street/Sotheby’s International Realty.  He was a former member and chairman of the Worthington Community Improvement Corporation.

David Elder - Mr. Elder served as Worthington’s City Manager for 26 years, beginning in 1981 until his retirement in 2007. 

Doug Foust - Mr. Foust is a member of the Worthington City Council.  As Managing Director of the County Commissioners’ Association of Ohio, he is responsible for a 33-county healthcare purchasing consortium.

Bill Lhota - Mr. Lhota is retired President and CEO of the Central Ohio Transit Authority (COTA) and retired President and COO of American Electric Power (AEP).  He serves as a labor arbitrator for the Federal Mediation Conciliation Service and the American Arbitration Association.  He is also a lecturer and teacher on business and engineering ethics.

Scott Myers - Mr. Myers is President Pro-Tem of the Worthington City Council.  He is also an Assistant Attorney General for the State of Ohio.  Prior to serving on the City Council, Mr. Myers served for eight years on the Municipal Planning Commission and Architectural Review Board.

Ken Pearlman - Mr. Pearlman is Professor Emeritus of the City and Regional Planning Section of The Ohio State University’s Knowlton School of Architecture and former Adjunct Professor of Law at The Ohio State University. He is also a former member of the Worthington Municipal Planning Commission and Board of Zoning Appeals.

Rebecca Princehorn - Ms. Princehorn is a partner at Bricker & Eckler law firm where she is co-chair of the Public Finance group.  Her practice emphasizes school and local government law.  She is also Chair of the Worthington Community Improvement Corporation.

Mark Senff, Vice Chair - Mr. Senff is a retired partner from BakerHostetler law firm where he specialized in probate law.